Tdsb Teachers Collective Agreement

In the education sector, employee representatives (represented by unions), employers (represented by trust associations) and the crown (represented by the Ontario government) are represented by the Collective Education Act. Ontario`s education collective agreements ended on August 31, 2019. However, under the Labour Relations Act, these agreements remain in effect beyond their expiry date until a new contract or parties are in a legal strike/lockout position. The parties are legally obliged to meet and negotiate in good faith. This means that each party must make every reasonable effort to reach a collective agreement. The framework of collective agreements for the education sector includes a two-stage negotiation process involving centralised and local negotiations. Centralized negotiations generally include important monetary and political issues (e.g. B compensation, benefits and paid resignations), whereas local negotiations generally do not concern monetary issues or specific matters to the local board of directors. In addition, the collective agency must notify the strike in writing at least five days before the start of the strike and indicate the start of the strike.

For local negotiations, TDSB will negotiate with its nine local bargaining units. These include groups represented by the Ontario Elementary Teachers` Federation (ETFO), the Ontario Secondary School Teachers` Federation (OSSTF), the Canadian Union of Public Workers (CUPE) and the Worker Maintenance, Construction and Trade Council (MCSTC). Several things need to be done to be on strike or locked out in a legal position: a lockout is when an employer closes a job, suspends work or refuses to continue hiring a certain number of workers during a labour dispute. As in the case of a strike, written notification, in this case by the employers` bargaining agency, must be filed at least five days before the start of the lockout. In centralized negotiations, the Ontario Public School Boards` Association (OPSBA) represents all English public school boards in Ontario (including the TDSB).